Hebrew Orphan Asylum is a grandiose building. It has slowly deteriorated over the last 143 years. Finally, with the help of Baltimore Heritage, it is being renovated in a full gut-out. The new building will keep its original exterior with repairs made on the structure and foundation.
Built in 1876, it began as a safe haven for Jewish immigrants and children but was closed in 1923 once a better foster care system was practiced. It was reopened as the West Baltimore General Hospital until the 1980’s when it closed once again.
Throughout the building you can see the century and a half of wear and tear through the various peeling layers of paint and wallpaper, the deteriorated but entrancing interior and the rear of the building immersed in vines and fallen brick.
The slow rehabilitation of this project will be closely recorded by Southway, we are thrilled to see what this building will become. Currently, the building is being fastened and stabilized for the gut out set to begin soon. The gut out will go from the roof down. It will then get a permanent roof installed and be built back up from the inside.
For more information on the past of Hebrew Orphan Asylum, click the links below: